Jean-Christophe Jeauffre


Jean-Christophe Jeauffre is a French award-winning filmmaker/explorer.

At the age of 25, he co-founded Jules Verne Adventures, an organization dedicated to exploration, conservation and entertainment through film, hence the creation of the world famed Jules Verne Festival and of the Jules Verne Awards, which he now runs and produces both in Paris and Los Angeles. As of today, the Jules Awards were given to Harrison Ford, George Lucas, James Cameron, Gérard Depardieu, Catherine Deneuve, Johnny Depp, Sir Christopher Lee, Sir Patrick Stewart, Dame Jane Goodall, Buzz Aldrin, William Shatner, Stan Lee, Roy E. Disney, Tony Curtis–to name a few.

JEAUFFRE_DIRECTOR_THMHis passion for exploration and for the ocean led him to create the Jules Verne Films & Expeditions, a production company leading expeditions around the world and producing new concept of action-documentaries where true-life adventure meets with strong story-telling, and spectacular environments. He brought along sometimes some of Cousteau’s original divers to continue the quest of his inspirational mentor. In 1999, he wrote, co-produced and directed Devil’s Islands, his first film for French TV.
He then directed several films for French TV, including Red and White, and the award-winning documentaries Whales of Atlantis, Amazon Trek, 100 Years Under the Sea, filmed during a five-month expedition on the Atlantic and the Amazon, and narrated by world acclaimed actors Sir Christopher Lee, Ernest Borgnine and Charlotte Rampling.
In 2006, he co-wrote and produced the Jules Verne Adventures TV documentary Explorers: From the Titanic to the Moon, starring producer/director James Cameron and veteran Apollo 11 astronaut Buzz Aldrin.
Shot in the Arctic, in partnership with NASA and the Mars Institute, Passage to Mars (2014) is the latest installment of the Jules Verne Films & Expeditions and the first theatrical feature-length documentary ever produced and directed by Jeauffre: the story of the first “Martian road trip on Earth,” as told by actor Zachary Quinto (Heroes, Star Trek).

Jeauffre is a member of the famed Explorers Club, based in New York City.
Click HERE to see Jeauffre’s IMDb profile.